财产法

 

海外不动产投资

 

塞浦路斯位于地中海东部欧、亚、非三大洲和中东地区的交界处,拥有可靠透明的法律体系。同时该国还是欧盟成员国,基础设施完善,通讯便利,生活成本较低,气候宜人,人民友好热情,对外国投资者有极大的吸引力。

 

一般来讲,这里的不动产投资者有

以下四种:

 

•  退休居民。许多人选择在塞浦路斯定居养老。这里为退休居民准备了许多优惠政策,如低海外养老金税率等。如果您每年的养老金不超过3,417欧元,那么就无需缴纳相关税费;若年均养老金在3,417欧元以上,其税率也只有5%。

 

在某些情况下,如果您的国家已与塞浦路斯签订了双重征税协议,那么您也可能会从中受益。目前塞浦路斯已与40多个国家签订了该协议,还有20多个正在协商之中。此外,在塞浦路斯是不用交遗产税的。

 

 

•  经济活动从事者。这类人越来越多,其中有些外籍人士在这里的国际商务企业或本地企业工作,他们不在这里定居或只居住一段时间;还有些不愿租房的外国朋友选择在这里买房。某些国际商业公司还为他们的董事在这里置办了房产。

 

 

•  度假者/ 投机商。许多人都在这里购买度假房,有的考虑退休后在这里定居,有的则想以后将其出售。通过出售不动产而获得的收入是可以汇回您的国家的,只要缴清资本收益税即可。

 

 

•  商业投资者。这些外籍人士或企业看好这里的地理位置、气候、完善的基础设施和各种优惠政策(尤其是课税方面的政策),出于旅游或开展业务的目的而在塞浦路斯购买房产。

 

 

法律援助

 

塞浦路斯的大多数房地产开发商都已从事多年经营,信誉良好。而且塞浦路斯拥有透明完善的法律制度,在各大城市也设立了世界一流的专业金融服务机构。尽管如此,不动产法规和买卖手续是十分复杂的,您从一开始就有必要向可靠机构寻求法律建议,这样才能避免不良后果和意外的发生。

 

以下是我们针对塞浦路斯房地产法规做出的几点简要分析。这些法规是为保护不动产产权、规范不动产交易而设立的,其中也对外籍人士的投资行为作出了规定。

 

 

塞浦路斯宪法

 

塞浦路斯宪法(Constitution of Cyprus)规定人人平等,不论民族。该法还包括了保护人权、消除歧视的相关条款。若政府机构侵犯了人民的基本权利,受害人有权向该机构提出赔偿要求,同时该机构应在30日内作出答复。

 

此外,上述受害人也可向塞浦路斯境内的任何管辖法院以及欧洲人权法院提出控诉。

 

塞浦路斯宪法规定,不动产所有权是基本人权之一,受宪法第23款的严格保护。同时《强制收购物业法》(Compulsory Acquisition of Property Law)No. 15/1962做出了相关规定:

 

在塞浦路斯拥有房产的非塞浦路斯公民可享受本国公民待遇,其财产应受到绝对的保护。

 

 

合同法与民事诉讼法

 

这两部法律旨在规范所有种类的交易行为(包括不动产交易),并且规定了法庭处理争议时应遵循的步骤。《合同法》(Contract Law)和《民事诉讼法》(Civil Procedure Law)设立时塞浦路斯还是英国的殖民地,因此在很大程度上效仿了英国的相应法律。尽管在近几年内有所修改,但它们还是与英国法律十分相似。

 

《合同法》规定,不动产交易双方必须出具书面合同、贴足印花、签字并找人见证。

 

任何因不动产交易而引发的争议都应交由塞浦路斯管辖法院按照塞浦路斯法律处理。但在特殊情况下,可能会由有共同管辖权的法院来处理争议;有时争议各方还可先采取仲裁途径。

 

 

印花税法

 

印花税法(Stamp Law)规定了印花税的收取办法:

 

•  合同价值为170,860欧元以下,印花税率为0.15%;

•  合同价值超过170,860欧元,印花税率为0.2%。

 

没有贴印花税票的合同依旧有效,但不可用作法庭证据或在地政局(Land Registry)进行产权转让的凭证。只有补交印花税后贴上税票的合同才可做以上用途,同时政府还将根据合同价值与合同生效日期收缴一定罚款。

 

 

 

不动产法(包括保有条件、注册及评估等内容)

 

本法案于1946年通过,取代了原有的《土耳其土地法》(Ottoman Land Law)。塞浦路斯《不动产法》(The Immovable Property Law)十分全面,在本国土地登记系统(包括不动产定义、绘图、认可及评估)框架内对不动产保有条件、注册、处置和估价等问题做出了规定。塞浦路斯每块土地的历史都可追溯至地政局普查(General Survey)日期,因此地政局所行使的职责是独一无二的。《不动产法》定义并保护了人民土地财产权利,不动产交易相关权利也在其保护范围之内。

 

世界上只有少数国家还保留着如此精确高效的注册系统,而塞浦路斯则是其中之一。随着计算机的普及,全国土地登记服务还有望进一步加速升级。

 

《不动产法》第40章规定,业主在地政局登记房产、办妥法律规定的一切手续之后才可享受不动产所有权及其他相关权益,且只有注册业主的登记行为才有法律效力。由地政局颁发的注册执照(即所有权证书)将定义并保护产权,且会为该房产的交易提供方便。

 

 

 

土地出售(实际履行)法

 

本法规定,为保护购房者的相关权益、防止卖方在合同有效期内将房产转售他人或非法收费,不动产购买者应在购房合同生效6个月内将该合同副本(应付足印花税)交至地政局备案。此外,如果卖方拒绝过户,在某些情况下购房者可向法院申请强制执行令,将房产过户到自己名下。

 

 

 

(外籍人士)不动产置办法

 

本法中的“外籍人士”是指非塞浦路斯公民,不论其是否为欧盟或第三国公民。

 

本法案规定,在塞浦路斯置办不动产的非塞浦路斯公民除应遵守相关交易通则之外,还应办理特殊手续。此外,为了合理控制海外投资、保护外籍投资者,塞浦路斯还制定了一些限制性法规。

 

“外国人”或“外籍人士”是指除塞浦路斯共和国公民以外的一切人员;由非塞浦路斯公民控制的本国境内企业(国际企业)、外资企业与为外国人设立的信托关系均属“外籍”。以下情况除外:

 

•  不居住在本国的塞浦路斯公民;

 

•  塞浦路斯共和国公民的妻子,且经管辖法院判定二人并未分居;或

 

•  自2004年5月1日起在此长期居住的欧盟公民或总部设在塞浦路斯的欧盟企业。

 

•  “为外国人设立的信托关系”是指在任何信托关系中,其受益人并非塞浦路斯公民,而且有明示或暗示性合同(书面或口头合同)规定:某非塞浦路斯公民不会成为某财产的绝对所有人,但会为其他人的福祉行使所有权,或在信任基础上为其自己保留财产所有权。

 

 

“置办不动产”是指:

 

•  收取或购买有效期超过33年的不动产契约;

 

•  收购企业股份:该企业已在塞浦路斯共和国及英属基地区(British Sovereign Base Areas)注册为合法实体,且已在以上两个地区购置不动产。若该公司大部分股份归非塞浦路斯居民所有,那么这家公司就属于“非塞浦路斯居民控制的企业”;以及

 

•  为非塞浦路斯公民设立信托,根据协议条款将某不动产转让33年以上,或为同样目的转让某企业股权。

 

《(外籍人士)不动产置办法》——Acquisition of Immovable Property (Aliens) Law规定,非塞浦路斯公民在事先取得政务官员许可后才能购买不动产。一般情况下,外籍人士能证明自己是出于善意购买房产即可获批;如申请购买土地,该地面积不可超过3德南(约4000平方米),且只可修建一幢房屋,供买主或其家人作为住宅使用。

 

自2009年5月1日起,欧盟公民无需经过政务专员批准即可在塞浦路斯境内购置不动产,包括房屋、公寓、土地、建筑用地(也可用于投资目的)。

 

塞浦路斯公民在其他欧盟国家建立法律实体也可享受同样待遇。

 

原购房者家属也可购买其自己的房产,前提是他们在经济与居住方面完全独立于原购房者;例如已婚子女购买住宅或建立公司等。许可证只适用于个人居住,不可用于出租或商业目的。本条法规对国际企业则有所放松:国际公司既可在此购买商业处所,也可为其员工或董事购买住房。

 

根据《塞浦路斯共和国建国条约》(Establishment of the Republic of Cyprus)附录T,身为“英国居民”(British Residents)的英籍人士可在塞浦路斯境内自由交易,无需政务专员批准。所谓“英国居民”是指在塞浦路斯建国时居住在本国境内的英国人。这一特权已经记入他们的护照,其配偶和后裔也可沿用。

 

尽管申请许可等待时间为12个月,您也可以一边等消息一边使用房产。

 

在外籍购房者拿到许可证且将房产登记在自己名下之后,就可以将该房产出售或以任何方式处置(如通过遗嘱转赠)。此外,其法定继承人无需申请许可即可将该房产登记在自己名下。

 

在签订不动产交易合同之前,购房者应委托地政局对预购房产进行调查,以确认该房产无任何权利和债务负担。请注意,一旦将合同交由地政局备案,即使房产背负债务,其相关合同也是有法律效力的。

 

通过其他欧盟成员国的企业购买房产来规避上述限制的确很容易,但对于第三国公民来讲,通过传统途径来申请不动产购置许可证也不是什么难事,只要满足以下条件即可:购房是出于善意目的,所购买的公寓、房屋或土地(面积不可超过3德南——约4,000平方米,只可修建一幢住房)只供购房者及其家人当做住宅使用。

 

 

 

房产转让

 

一旦购房者拿到许可证,转让即可生效。转手费由购房者支付,金额依房价而定,某些情况下则依房产市值而定。0至85,430欧元区段的转手费率为3%; 85,430至170,860欧元区段的转手费率为5%,而超过170,860欧元的部分,其转手费率为8%。

 

举例说明,若某房产价格为250,000欧元,其转手费就是13,165.60欧元(85,430×3%加上85,430×5%加上79,140×8%)。

 

塞浦路斯公民与非塞浦路斯公民均可申请抵押贷款。

 

 

不动产法 No. 9/1965(涉及转手及抵押贷款问题)

 

该法案负责监管不动产抵押贷款及被抵押财产的出售问题。该法律规定,被抵押财产须在地政局注册。

 

 

租金控制法

 

塞浦路斯出租房产受《合同法》(Contract Law)和《租金控制法》(Rent Control Law)制约,以在某些情况下为房客提供保护,使其不会受到无理驱逐。

 

租金控制法不适用于在本国境内租用房产的非塞浦路斯公民,但欧盟公民享受本国公民待遇。

 

租期为15年以上者可在地政局登记,三月之内生效。房客在登记后即可享受某些权益,其中包括转租。

 

如未获得政务专员许可,非塞浦路斯公民的不动产租期不得超过33年,此类人员也不可出租房屋。

 

 

更多信息请参考www.neocleous.com

Property Law

 

Foreign investment in immovable property

 

The location of Cyprus in the eastern Mediterranean at the crossroads of Europe, Asia, the Middle East and Africa, its reliable and transparent legal system, combined with its membership of the EU, the excellent infrastructure coupled with reliable communication with all parts of the world, the relatively low cost of living, excellent climate and the friendliness and hospitality of its people, are just some of the reasons that have made Cyprus attractive to foreign investors.

 

Non-Cypriots investing in immovable property in Cyprus may generally be classified in the

following four main categories:

 

•  Retired residents . Many people choose to settle permanently in Cyprus upon retirement. A number of incentives are available to retired people, including very low taxation of pension income received from abroad. The first €3,417 per year of such income is tax-free and the remainder is subject to tax at only 5%.

 

Retirees may also enjoy, under certain circumstances, the benefits of any double taxation treaty their country of origin has concluded with Cyprus . Double tax treaties are in place covering more than 40 countries, and a further 20 are under negotiation. Last, but not least, there is no inheritance tax in Cyprus .

 

 

•  Economically active residents. This growing category includes non-Cypriots who live indefinitely or for a fixed period of time in Cyprus as employees, either of their own international business company or of a local or international firm, and who choose to buy their own home in Cyprus rather than live in rented property. It also includes international business companies purchasing houses for their directors.

 

 

•  Holiday makers and speculators . Many people purchase properties as holiday homes, often with a view to permanent residence in Cyprus once they retire, or to sell at a profit at a later stage. Profits from the sale of immovable property may be repatriated, subject to capital gains tax.

 

 

•  Business investors. These are foreign individuals and companies who acquire property in Cyprus for tourism, business premises or industrial purposes, making use of the location and climate of Cyprus , its excellent infrastructure and the various incentives offered for these purposes, especially in the area of taxation.

 

 

Legal assistance

 

Most property developers in Cyprus are long-established and reliable, and Cyprus has a transparent and well-regulated legal system, with world-class professional and financial services available in the major cities. Nevertheless, as in every country, the complexity of the legislation on immovable property and the formalities which need to be considered make it imperative to seek and obtain reliable and efficient legal advice from the outset in order to avoid unpleasant results and undesirable consequences later.

 

The following is a brief analysis of the key features of Cyprus legislation directed at the protection of ownership of, and the rights pertaining to, immovable property, and the regulation of associated transactions, particularly where foreign investors are concerned.

 

 

The Constitution of Cyprus

 

The Constitution of Cyprus establishes the equality of all persons irrespective of their nationality and includes provisions for the protection of human rights of all persons without discrimination. Any violation by an administrative authority of a person's fundamental rights entitles that person to request the authority in question to remedy the situation. The authority has a period of 30 days during which it must give a prompt answer to the request.

 

Furthermore, such a person has free access to any competent court in Cyprus , as well as to the European Court of Human Rights.

 

The right of ownership of immovable property is considered as one of the fundamental human rights under the Constitution of Cyprus and as such it is well protected under article 23 of the Constitution. Further protection is given by the Compulsory Acquisition of Property Law No. 15/1962, outlined below.

 

Non-Cypriots who own property in Cyprus enjoy all the property rights which are available to the citizens of Cyprus and can be assured that their property is absolutely protected.

 

 

The Contract Law and the Civil Procedure Law

 

These laws regulate transactions of all kinds, including those relating to immovable property, and set out the procedures followed by the courts for resolving disputes. They originate in the time when Cyprus was a British colony and are to a large extent modelled on their English counterparts. Although they have been subject to amendment in recent years, they are still similar to the English model.

 

The Contract Law provides that contracts in respect of immovable property should be made in writing, duly stamped and properly signed and witnessed.

 

All disputes arising from transactions concerning immovable property are governed by the laws of Cyprus and are subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of Cyprus . The parties, however, may in some circumstances agree to the concurrent jurisdiction of other courts or refer any dispute to arbitration before resorting to court proceedings.

 

 

The Stamp Law

 

The Stamp Law defines the revenue stamps payable on contracts in accordance with the purchase price as follows:

 

•  on the first €170,860, the revenue stamp is 1,5 per thousand or part thereof; and

•  on any excess above €170,860, the revenue stamp is 2 per thousand or part thereof.

 

The absence of the revenue stamp does not render a contract void but an unstamped contract cannot be used in court proceedings or for the transfer of ownership of property in the Land Registry. An unstamped contract may be used in proceedings or to transfer ownership provided it is properly stamped at the time of such use, in which case a fine is also imposed according to the value and the date of execution of the relevant contract.

 

 

 

The Immovable Property (Tenure, Registration and Valuation) Law

 

This law was enacted in 1946, replacing the Ottoman Land Law which had prevailed until then. It is considered to be the A to Z of immovable property in Cyprus , dealing with all matters concerning the tenure, registration, disposition and valuation of immovable property within the framework of the Cyprus land registration system, in which immovable property is defined, drawn, recognised, and valued. The Land Registry is unique, in that by its function the history of each piece of land is traced back to the date of the General Survey. Rights in land are defined and secured and all transactions relating to immovable property are protected.

 

Cyprus is one of only a few countries in the world to maintain such an accurate and effective registration system. Moreover, with the completion of computerisation, it is expected that all the Land Registry services will be upgraded and accelerated.

 

Section 40 of the Immovable Property Law provides that ownership of immovable property or rights in immovable property can only be acquired by registration at the Land Registry, through the procedure described in the law and that such registration may only be effected by the registered owner of the property. The certificates of registration (title deeds) issued by the Land Registry define the property, secure its ownership and facilitate transactions related to the property.

 

 

 

The Sale of Land (Specific Performance) Law

 

Under this law a purchaser of immovable property may secure the remedy of specific performance by depositing a duly stamped copy of the contract at the Land Registry within six months from the date of its execution, thus preventing the vendor from transferring the property elsewhere or charging it for as long as the contract is valid and legally effective. Moreover, if the vendor refuses to transfer the property, under certain circumstances the purchaser may apply to the court for an order for the transfer of the property into his name.

 

 

 

The Acquisition of Immovable Property (Aliens) Law

 

The word “aliens” in this law refers to non-Cypriots, whether EU citizens or third party nationals.

 

According to this law, non-Cypriots purchasing immovable property in Cyprus, apart from following the general rules which regulate such transactions, are also obliged to adhere to special formalities and are faced with certain restrictions, which are aimed at the proper control of foreign investments and the protection of foreign investors.

 

The term “foreigner” or “alien” is defined as any person not being a citizen of the Republic of Cyprus and includes a local company controlled by non-residents (international business), a foreign company and a trust in favour of a foreign person. It does not include:

 

•  Non-resident Cypriots;

 

•  Foreign wives of citizens of the Republic not living apart from their husbands under a decree of a competent court; or

 

•  From 1 May 2004, citizens of EU member states permanently residing in Cyprus or EU companies having their main base in Cyprus .

 

•  “Trust in favour of a foreign person” means any kind of trust of which the beneficiary or one of the existing beneficiaries is a non-Cypriot and includes any express or implied contract or agreement, written or oral, under which a non-Cypriot will not be the absolute owner but will have ownership for the benefit of another or where ownership will be held on trust for his benefit.

 

 

The term “acquisition of immovable property” includes:

 

•  The grant or purchase of a lease of property for a period exceeding 33 years;

 

•  The acquisition of shares in a company which is duly registered as a legal entity in the Republic or in the British Sovereign Base Areas and which (in either case) has acquired immovable property in the Republic or the Sovereign Base Areas, taking into account that if a majority of shares in the company belong mainly to non-Cypriots, the company is considered as “controlled by non-residents”; and

 

•  The formation of a trust in favour of a non-Cypriot which involves, wholly or partly, the leasing of immovable property under the provisions of a lease for a period exceeding 33 years or a shareholding in a company for similar purposes.

 

Under the Acquisition of Immovable Property (Aliens) Law, a non-Cypriot wishing to acquire immovable property requires the prior permission of the Council of Ministers. Normally permission is routinely granted to bona fide foreigners to acquire a flat or a house or a piece of land not exceeding three donums (about 4000 m 2 ) for the erection of only one house for use as a residence only by the purchaser and his family.

 

Since 1 May 2009, citizens of other EU member state are entitled to acquire any immovable property in Cyprus in the form of houses, flats, land and building sites or for investment purposes without a licence from the Council of Ministers.

 

The same applies to legal entities incorporated in another EU member state.

 

Members of the family of an original purchaser may also acquire their own property, provided that they are completely independent of the purchaser, both financially and residentially, such as married children having their own family and business. Permission is granted for personal use, and not for letting or commercial use. This rule is relaxed for international companies which are permitted to acquire business premises, as well as houses or flats as residences for their members or directors.

 

British subjects classified as “British Residents” according to Annex T of the Treaty of Establishment of the Republic of Cyprus , may freely trade in land in Cyprus without the permit of the Council of Ministers. This privilege was granted to some British subjects who were residents at the time of the establishment of the Republic of Cyprus ; it is recorded in their passports and it is extended to their spouses and descendants.

 

Although it may take up to 12 months for the Council of Ministers' permit to be obtained, purchasers are entitled to occupy the property in the meantime.

 

After the permit has been granted and the property registered in the name of the foreigner, no further restriction is imposed on him and he may sell or dispose of it by will or other instrument. Moreover, the legal heir is not required to obtain a permit in order to have the property registered in his name.

 

Before entering into a contract for the purchase of immovable property a prospective purchaser should always commission a search at the Land Registry to make sure that the property is free from any encumbrances, charges or burdens. It should be noted that no such burdens may affect the right of specific performance after the contract has been deposited with the Land Registry.

 

Although it is relatively easy to circumvent the restrictions by acquiring property via a company incorporated in another EU member state, it is equally simple for most third country nationals wishing to acquire immovable property in Cyprus to follow the traditional route of obtaining the permission of the Council of Ministers to acquire property. Permission is normally granted as a matter of routine to bona fide foreigners to acquire a flat or a house or a piece of land not exceeding three donums (about 4,000 square metres) for the erection of only one house for use as a residence only by the buyer and his family.

 

 

 

Transfer of Property

 

The transfer of immovable property can be effected once permission to acquire has been granted. Transfer fees are payable by the purchaser on the purchase price or, under certain circumstances, on the current market value. The first €85,340 is charged at 3%; the next €85,430 is charged at 5% and any excess above €170,860 is charged at 8%.

 

Thus the transfer fee on a property priced at €250,000 will be €13,165.60 (85,430@ 3% plus 85,430 @ 5% plus 79,140 @ 8%)

 

Cypriots and non-Cypriots may obtain loans to purchase immovable property secured by a mortgage on the property.

 

 

The Immovable Property (Transfer and Mortgage) Law, No. 9/1965

 

This law regulates mortgages of immovable property and sales of mortgaged property. It requires mortgages to be registered at the Land Registry.

 

 

The Rent Control Law

 

Property leases in Cyprus are governed by the provisions of the Contract Law, subject to the restrictions introduced by the Rent Control Law to protect tenants against eviction under certain circumstances.

 

The Rent Control Law does not apply to non-Cypriots renting properties in Cyprus (EU members are treated as Cypriots) .

 

Leases exceeding 15 years may be registered with the Land Registry and registration should be effected within three months of the signing of the lease. Registered leases afford the lessee certain advantages, including the right to trade the lease.

 

Non-Cypriots may not take a lease of immovable property for a period exceeding 33 years without the prior permission of the Council of Ministers, and they are not allowed to let their premises to tenants.

 

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com