قانون العقارات

 

الإستثمار الأجنبي في قطاع العقارات

 

موقع قبرص في شرق البحر المتوسط عند إلتقاء أوروبا وآسيا والشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا، ونظامها القانوني الفعال والمتسم بالشفافية، إلى جانب عضويتها في الإتحاد الأوروبي، والبنية التحتية الممتازة بالإضافة إلى إتصالات فعالة مع جميع أنحاء العالم، والتكلفة المنخفضة نسبياً للمعيشة، والمناخ الرائع وضيافة ولطف أهلها، ليست سوى بعض الأسباب التي جعلت من قبرص منطقة جذب للمستثمرين الأجانب.

 

عموماً يمكن تصنيف غير القبارصة الذين يستثمرون في قطاع العقارات في قبرص إلى أربعة فئات رئيسية:

 

•  السكان المتقاعدون. يختار العديد من الناس الإقامة الدائمة في قبرص عند التقاعد. وهناك العديد من المميزات المتاحة للمتقاعدين، بما في ذلك ضرائب منخفضة جداً على المعاش التقاعدي الذي يحصلون عليه من الخارج. أول 3.417 يورو من الدخل السنوي تكون معفاة من الضرائب، ويخضع الباقي لضريبة قدرها 5% فقط.

 

يمكن للمتقاعدين التمتع أيضاً، في ظل ظروف معينة، بمميزات معاهدات منع الإزدواج الضريبي التي أبرمتها بلدانهم الأصلية مع قبرص. معاهدات منع الإزدواج الضريبي تغطي الآن أكثر من 40 دولة، وهناك معاهدات مع 20 دولة أخرى قيد التفاوض. أخيراً وليس آخراً، لا يوجد ضرائب على الميراث في قبرص.

 

 

•  السكان الناشطين إقتصادياً. وتشمل هذه الفئة المتنامية غير القبارصة الذين يعيشون لفترة غير محددة أو لفترة محددة من الزمن في قبرص كموظفين، إما في شركاتهم التجارية العالمية التي يملكونها أو في شركة لشركة أخرى محلية أو عالمية والذين يختارون شراء منازلهم الخاصة في قبرص بدلاً من العيش في العقارات المستأجرة. ويشمل أيضاً الشركات التجارية الدولية التي تقوم بشراء المنازل لمديريها.

 

 

•  القادمون لقضاء العطلات والمضاربون. كثيراً من الناس يشترون العقارات لإستخدامها في قضاء العطلات، وغالباً بهدف إقامة دائمة في قبرص بعد تقاعدهم، أو لبيعها في مرحلة لاحقة مقابل تحقيق الربح. وقد تنتج تلك الأرباح من بيع الأجانب للعقارات عند العودة إلى مواطنهم الأصلية، وتخضع لضريبة أرباح رأس المال.

 

 

•  المستثمرون التجاريون. هؤلاء هم أفراد وشركات أجنبية حصلوا على عقارات في قبرص للسياحة، أو مباني لشركاتهم أو لأغراض صناعية، والإستفادة من موقع ومناخ قبرص، وبنيتها التحتية الممتازة، ومختلف المميزات المقدمة لهذه الأغراض، وخصوصاً في مجال الضرائب.

 

 

المساعدة القانونية

 

معظم شركات التطوير العقاري هي شركات عريقة وفعالة، ولدى قبرص نظام قانوني منظم ويتسم بالشفافية، مع إتاحة الخدمات الإحترافية والمالية ذات الطراز العالمي في المدن الكبرى. ومع ذلك، كما هو الحال في كل بلد، بسبب تعقيد التشريعات المتعلقة بالعقارات والإجراءات المطلوبة فيها تجعل من الضروري السعي والحصول على مشورة قانونية موثوقة وفعالة من البداية من أجل تجنب النتائج غير السارة والعواقب غير المرغوب فيها لاحقاً.

 

وفيما يلي تحليل موجز لسمات التشريع الرئيسية في قبرص التي تستهدف حماية ملكية، والحقوق الخاصة بالعقارات، وتنظيم المعاملات المرتبطة بها، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمستثمرين الأجانب.

 

 

دستور قبرص

 

دستور قبرص ينص على المساواة بين جميع الأشخاص بغض النظر عن جنسياتهم، ويتضمن أحكاماً لحماية حقوق الإنسان لجميع الأشخاص دون تمييز. أي إنتهاك من قبل السلطة الإدارية للحقوق الأساسية لشخص ما يخول لهذا الشخص أن يطلب تصحيح الوضع من السلطة المعنية. ويكون لدى السلطة مدة 30 يوماً التي يجب على السلطة خلالها إعطاء جواب سريع على هذا الطلب.

 

علاوة على ذلك، فإن مثل هذا الشخص لديه حرية اللجوء إلى أي محكمة مختصة في قبرص، وكذلك إلى المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان.

 

ويعتبر الحق في ملكية العقارات واحداً من حقوق الإنسان الأساسية بموجب الدستور في قبرص وعلى هذا النحو فإن هذا الحق مكفول وفقاً للمادة 23 من الدستور. وتعطى مزيداً من الحماية من قبل قانون التملك الإجباري رقم 15\1962، المبين أدناه.

 

غير القبارصة الذين يمتلكون العقارات في قبرص لهم حق التمتع بجميع حقوق الملكية المتاحة للمواطنين القبارصة، وعليهم التأكد من أن عقاراتهم ذات حماية مطلقة.

 

 

قانون العقود وقانون الإجراءات المدنية

 

هذه القوانين تنظم المعاملات بجميع أنواعها، بما فيها تلك المتعلقة بالعقارات، وتحدد الإجراءات التي تتبعها المحاكم لتسوية المنازعات. ولقد صدرت تلك القوانين عندما كانت قبرص مستعمرة بريطانية، وتعد إلى حد كبير على غرار نظائرها في القانون الإنجليزي. على الرغم من أنها خضعت لتعديل في السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أنها لا تزال على غرار النموذج الإنجليزي.

 

قانون العقود ينص على ضرورة أن تكون عقود العقارات كتابية، ومختومة على النحو الواجب، وموقعة بشكل صحيح، وبشهادة شهود.

 

وتخضع جميع المنازعات الناشئة عن المعاملات المتعلقة بالعقارات بموجب قوانين قبرص، وتخضع لإختصاص المحاكم في قبرص. ومع ذلك، قد يتفق الطرفان في بعض الظروف إلى الإختصاص المشترك لمحاكم أخرى أو إحالة أي نزاع إلى التحكيم قبل اللجوء إلى إجراءات المحكمة.

 

 

قانون الدمغات

 

قانون الدمغات يحدد قيمة الدمغات المستحقة على العقود وفقاً لسعر الشراء على النحو التالي:

 

•  على الـ 170.860 يورو الأولى، تكون قيمة الدمغة 1.5 على كل ألف يورو أو جزء منه، و

•  على ما يتعدى الـ 170.860، تكون قيمة الدمغة 2 على كل ألف يورو أو جزء منه.

 

عدم وجود الدمغات لا يلغي العقد ولكن لا يمكن لعقد غير مدموغ أن يتم إستخدامه في المحكمة، أو لنقل ملكية العقارات في السجل العقاري. ويمكن إستخدام عقد غير مدموغ في المحكمة أو لنقل الملكية شريطة أن يتم دمغه بشكل صحيح في وقت هذا الإستخدام، وفي هذه الحالة أيضاً يتم فرض غرامة مالية وفقاً لقيمة وتاريخ تنفيذ العقد ذات الصلة.

 

 

 

قانون العقارات (التملك، والتسجيل والتقييم)

 

صدر هذا القانون في عام 1946، ليحل محل القانون العقاري العثماني الذي كان سائداً حتى ذلك الحين. ويعتبر شاملاً لكل ما يتعلق بالعقارات في قبرص، والتعامل مع جميع المسائل المتعلقة بالتملك، والتسجيل، والتصرف وتقييم العقارات في إطار نظام السجل العقاري في قبرص، والذي يتم فيه تحديد وترسيم وتقييم العقارات. يعد السجل العقاري في قبرص فريد من نوعه، في أنه من خلال وظيفته يتتبع تاريخ كل قطعة أرض حتى تاريخ المسح العام. ويتم تحديد وتأمين الحقوق العقارية وحماية كافة التعاملات المتعلقة بالعقارات.

 

قبرص واحدة من بضع دول في العالم تحافظ على نظام دقيق وفعال كهذا. علاوة على ذلك، عند الانتهاء من حوسبة هذا النظام، من المتوقع أن يتم تطوير وتسارع كافة خدمات السجل العقاري.

 

المادة 40 من قانون العقارات تنص على أنه يمكن ضمان ملكية العقارات أو الحقوق العقارية فقط عن طريق التسجيل في السجل العقاري، من خلال الإجراءات المنصوص عليها في القانون ويجوز تسجيل من قبل مالكه المسجل فقط. تصدر شهادات التسجيل (سندات الملكية) من السجل العقاري والتي تحدد العقار، وتحمي ملكيته وتسهل المعاملات المتعلقة به.

 

 

 

قانون بيع الأراضي (فعل محدد)

 

بموجب هذا القانون يجوز لمشتري العقار تأمين فعل محدد عن طريق إيداع نسخة من العقد مختومة على النحو الواجب في السجل العقاري في غضون ستة أشهر من تاريخ تنفيذه، وبالتالي منع البائع من نقل ملكية العقار مرة أخرى أو المطالبة بأموال أخرى طالما كان العقد سارياً المفعول من الناحية القانونية. وعلاوة على ذلك، إذا رفض البائع نقل الملكية، في ظروف معينة يمكن للمشتري اللجوء إلى المحكمة لإستصدار أمر نقل الملكية بإسمه.

 

 

 

قانون تملك العقارات (للأجانب)

 

كلمة "الأجانب" في هذا القانون تشير إلى غير القبارصة، سواء من مواطني الإتحاد الأوروبي أو مواطني الدول غير الأعضاء في الإتحاد الأوروبي.

 

وفقاً لهذا القانون، يلتزم غير القبارصة عند شرائهم العقارات في قبرص، وبصرف النظر عن إتباع القواعد العامة التي تنظم مثل هذه المعاملات، بالإجراءات الخاصة، وببعض القيود المفروضة، التي تهدف إلى التحكم المناسب في الإستثمارات الأجنبية وحماية المستثمرين الأجانب.

 

ويعرف مصطلح "مغترب" أو "أجنبي" بأنه أي شخص ليس من مواطني جمهورية قبرص، ويشمل شركة محلية تدار من قبل شخص غير مقيم في قبرص (الأعمال التجارية الدولية)، أو شركة أجنبية أو تكليف شخص أجنبي. ولا يشمل ما يلي:

 

•  القبارصة غير المقيمين؛

 

•  الزوجات الأجنبيات لمواطني جمهورية قبرص اللواتي يعيشن مع أزواجهن بموجب مرسوم صادر عن محكمة مختصة،

 

•  إعتباراً من 1 مايو 2004، مواطني الدول الأعضاء بالإتحاد الأوروبي الذين يقيمون بشكل دائم في قبرص أو شركات الإتحاد الأوروبي التي توجد قواعدها الرئيسية في قبرص.

 

•  "تكليف شخص أجنبي" يعني أي تكليف يكون المستفيد منه أو أحد المستفيدين الحاليين غير قبرصي، ويتضمن أي عقد أو إتفاق صريح أو ضمني، مكتوب أو شفهي، والذي بموجبه لا يعد غير القبرصي المالك المطلق ولكن تكون ملكيته لصالح شخص آخر أو أن يتم عقد ملكيته لمصلحته على أساس الثقة.

 

 

مصطلح "تملك العقارات" يشمل:

 

•  منح أو شراء أو تأجير العقارات لمدة تزيد على 33 عاماً؛

 

•  الإستحواذ على أسهم شركة مسجلة بإعتبارها كياناً قانونياً في الجمهورية أو في القواعد ذات السيادة البريطانية والتي (في كلتا الحالتين) قد إمتلكت عقارات في الجمهورية أو في القواعد السيادية، مع الأخذ في الإعتبار أنه إذا كانت أغلبية الأسهم في الشركة مملوكة في الأساس إلى غير القبارصة، تعتبر الشركة "تدار من قبل غير المقيمين"،

 

•  تكليف غير القبارصة الذي يشمل، كلياً أو جزئياً، تأجير العقارات وفقا لأحكام قانون الإيجار لمدة تزيد على 33 عاماً أو حصة في شركة لأغراض مماثلة.

 

في إطار قانون تملك العقارات (للأجانب)، يتطلب حصول غير القبارصة الذين يرغبون في تملك العقارات على إذن مسبق من مجلس الوزراء. عادة يتم منح إذن للأجانب حسني النية بشكل روتيني لتملك شقة أو منزل أو قطعة أرض لا تزيد على ثلاثة دونمات (حوالي 4000 م 2) لتشييد منزل واحد فقط لغرض الإقامة من قبل المشتري وعائلته .

 

إعتباراً من 1 مايو 2009، يحق لمواطني الدول الأعضاء في الإتحاد الأوروبي الحصول على أي عقارات في قبرص في صورة منازل وشقق وأراضي للبناء لأغراض الإستثمار دون الحصول على ترخيص من مجلس الوزراء.

 

ينطبق الأمر ذاته على الكيانات القانونية المسجلة في دولة عضو في الإتحاد الأوروبي.

 

يجوز أيضاً لأفراد أسرة المشتري الأصلي الحصول على عقاراتهم الخاصة، شريطة أن يكونوا مستقلين تماماً عن المشتري، سواء من الناحية المالية أو محل الإقامة، مثل الأبناء المتزوجين الذين لديهم أسرهم وأعمالهم الخاصة. يتم منح إذن للإستخدام الشخصي، وليس للإيجار أو الإستخدام التجاري. وتخفف تلك القاعدة بالنسبة للشركات الدولية التي يسمح لها بالحصول على المباني التجارية، فضلاً عن منازل أو شقق سكنية لأعضائها أو مديريها.

 

الرعايا البريطانيون "البريطانيون المقيمون" وفقاً للملحق (ت) من معاهدة إنشاء جمهورية قبرص، يمكنهم المتاجرة بحرية في الأراضي في قبرص دون الحصول على تصريح من مجلس الوزراء. وقد منح هذا الإمتياز لبعض الرعايا البريطانيين الذين كانوا مقيمين في ذلك الوقت عند تأسيس جمهورية قبرص، وتم تسجيل ذلك في جوازات سفرهم بما يشمل زوجاتهم وأبنائهم.

 

على الرغم من أن الحصول على موافقة مجلس الوزراء قد يستغرق نحو 12 شهراً، يحق للمشتري أن يشغل العقار في تلك الأثناء.

 

بعد أن يتم منح التصاريح وتسجيل العقار بإسم الأجنبي، لا تكون هناك أي قيود أخرى عليه ويمكنه بيع العقار أو التخلص منه بكامل إرادته أو شيء آخر. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا يطلب من الوريث الشرعي الحصول على تصريح من أجل تسجيل العقار بإسمه.

 

قبل إبرام عقد شراء عقار ما ينبغي على المشتري المحتمل دائماً فحص هذا العقار في السجل العقاري للتأكد من أن هذا العقار لا توجد عليه أي رسوم أو أعباء. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن مثل هذه الأعباء لا يمكن أن تؤثر على حق المشتري في العقار بعد إيداع العقد لدى السجل العقاري.

 

على الرغم من أنه من السهل نسبياً الإلتفاف على القيود المفروضة للحصول على العقارات عن طريق شركة مسجلة في دولة أخرى عضو في الإتحاد الأوروبي، يعد الأمر بالبساطة ذاتها بالنسبة لمواطني الدول غير الأعضاء في الإتحاد الأوروبي الراغبين في إقتناء العقارات في قبرص من خلال إتباع الطريقة التقليدية بالحصول على إذن من مجلس الوزراء لتملك العقار. ويتم عادة منح الإذن بإعتبارها مسألة روتينية للأجانب حسني النية من أجل الحصول على شقة أو منزل أو قطعة أرض لا تزيد على ثلاثة دونمات (حوالي 4000 متر مربع) لإقامة منزل واحد فقط وإستخدامه لغرض الإقامة فقط من قبل المشتري وعائلته.

 

 

 

نقل ملكية العقار

 

ويمكن أن يتم نقل ملكية العقارات بمجرد الحصول على إذن بالشراء. يتم دفع رسوم نقل الملكية من قبل المشتري على أساس سعر الشراء أو، في ظل ظروف معينة، على أساس القيمة السوقية الحالية. حيث تكون الرسوم على 85.430 يورو الأولى بنسبة 3% وتكون الرسوم على 85.430 يورو التالية بنسبة 5% وما يزيد عن 170.860 يورو يتم إحتساب الرسوم بنسبة 8%.

 

وبالتالي تكون الرسوم المستحقة على عقار بقيمة 250.000 يورو هي 13.165,60 يورو (85.430@ 3% + 85.430@ 5% + 79.140@ 8%).

 

يمكن للقبارصة وغير القبارصة الحصول على قروض لشراء العقارات مضمونة برهن تلك العقارات.

 

 

قانون العقارات (نقل الملكية والرهن) رقم 9\1965

 

ينظم هذا القانون عمليات الرهن على العقارات وبيع العقارات المرهونة. ويتطلب أن تكون العقارات المرهونة مسجلة في السجل العقاري.

 

 

قانون الرقابة على الإيجار

 

تخضع عقود إيجار العقارات في قبرص لأحكام قانون العقود، رهناً بالقيود التي أدخلها قانون الرقابة على الإيجار لحماية المستأجرين من الإخلاء في ظل ظروف معينة.

 

لا يطبق قانون الرقابة على الإيجار على غير القبارصة الذين يستأجرون العقارات في قبرص (يتم التعامل مع مواطني الإتحاد الأوروبي كالقبارصة).

 

يجوز تسجيل عقود الإيجار التي تزيد على 15 عاماً لدى السجل العقاري على أن يتم التسجيل في غضون ثلاثة أشهر من تاريخ توقيع عقد الإيجار. عقود الإيجار المسجلة تضمن مزايا معينة للمستأجر، بما فيها الحق في المتاجرة بعقد الإيجار.

 

لا يجوز لغير القبارصة إستئجار العقارات لمدة تزيد على 33 عاماً دون الحصول على إذن مسبق من مجلس الوزراء، ولا يسمح لهم بترك أماكن إقامتهم للمستأجرين.

 

 

لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى الرجوع إلى www.neocleous.com

Property Law

 

Foreign investment in immovable property

 

The location of Cyprus in the eastern Mediterranean at the crossroads of Europe, Asia, the Middle East and Africa, its reliable and transparent legal system, combined with its membership of the EU, the excellent infrastructure coupled with reliable communication with all parts of the world, the relatively low cost of living, excellent climate and the friendliness and hospitality of its people, are just some of the reasons that have made Cyprus attractive to foreign investors.

 

Non-Cypriots investing in immovable property in Cyprus may generally be classified in the

following four main categories:

 

•  Retired residents . Many people choose to settle permanently in Cyprus upon retirement. A number of incentives are available to retired people, including very low taxation of pension income received from abroad. The first €3,417 per year of such income is tax-free and the remainder is subject to tax at only 5%.

 

Retirees may also enjoy, under certain circumstances, the benefits of any double taxation treaty their country of origin has concluded with Cyprus . Double tax treaties are in place covering more than 40 countries, and a further 20 are under negotiation. Last, but not least, there is no inheritance tax in Cyprus .

 

 

•  Economically active residents. This growing category includes non-Cypriots who live indefinitely or for a fixed period of time in Cyprus as employees, either of their own international business company or of a local or international firm, and who choose to buy their own home in Cyprus rather than live in rented property. It also includes international business companies purchasing houses for their directors.

 

 

•  Holiday makers and speculators . Many people purchase properties as holiday homes, often with a view to permanent residence in Cyprus once they retire, or to sell at a profit at a later stage. Profits from the sale of immovable property may be repatriated, subject to capital gains tax.

 

 

•  Business investors. These are foreign individuals and companies who acquire property in Cyprus for tourism, business premises or industrial purposes, making use of the location and climate of Cyprus , its excellent infrastructure and the various incentives offered for these purposes, especially in the area of taxation.

 

 

Legal assistance

 

Most property developers in Cyprus are long-established and reliable, and Cyprus has a transparent and well-regulated legal system, with world-class professional and financial services available in the major cities. Nevertheless, as in every country, the complexity of the legislation on immovable property and the formalities which need to be considered make it imperative to seek and obtain reliable and efficient legal advice from the outset in order to avoid unpleasant results and undesirable consequences later.

 

The following is a brief analysis of the key features of Cyprus legislation directed at the protection of ownership of, and the rights pertaining to, immovable property, and the regulation of associated transactions, particularly where foreign investors are concerned.

 

 

The Constitution of Cyprus

 

The Constitution of Cyprus establishes the equality of all persons irrespective of their nationality and includes provisions for the protection of human rights of all persons without discrimination. Any violation by an administrative authority of a person's fundamental rights entitles that person to request the authority in question to remedy the situation. The authority has a period of 30 days during which it must give a prompt answer to the request.

 

Furthermore, such a person has free access to any competent court in Cyprus , as well as to the European Court of Human Rights.

 

The right of ownership of immovable property is considered as one of the fundamental human rights under the Constitution of Cyprus and as such it is well protected under article 23 of the Constitution. Further protection is given by the Compulsory Acquisition of Property Law No. 15/1962, outlined below.

 

Non-Cypriots who own property in Cyprus enjoy all the property rights which are available to the citizens of Cyprus and can be assured that their property is absolutely protected.

 

 

The Contract Law and the Civil Procedure Law

 

These laws regulate transactions of all kinds, including those relating to immovable property, and set out the procedures followed by the courts for resolving disputes. They originate in the time when Cyprus was a British colony and are to a large extent modelled on their English counterparts. Although they have been subject to amendment in recent years, they are still similar to the English model.

 

The Contract Law provides that contracts in respect of immovable property should be made in writing, duly stamped and properly signed and witnessed.

 

All disputes arising from transactions concerning immovable property are governed by the laws of Cyprus and are subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of Cyprus . The parties, however, may in some circumstances agree to the concurrent jurisdiction of other courts or refer any dispute to arbitration before resorting to court proceedings.

 

 

The Stamp Law

 

The Stamp Law defines the revenue stamps payable on contracts in accordance with the purchase price as follows:

 

•  on the first €170,860, the revenue stamp is 1,5 per thousand or part thereof; and

•  on any excess above €170,860, the revenue stamp is 2 per thousand or part thereof.

 

The absence of the revenue stamp does not render a contract void but an unstamped contract cannot be used in court proceedings or for the transfer of ownership of property in the Land Registry. An unstamped contract may be used in proceedings or to transfer ownership provided it is properly stamped at the time of such use, in which case a fine is also imposed according to the value and the date of execution of the relevant contract.

 

 

 

The Immovable Property (Tenure, Registration and Valuation) Law

 

This law was enacted in 1946, replacing the Ottoman Land Law which had prevailed until then. It is considered to be the A to Z of immovable property in Cyprus , dealing with all matters concerning the tenure, registration, disposition and valuation of immovable property within the framework of the Cyprus land registration system, in which immovable property is defined, drawn, recognised, and valued. The Land Registry is unique, in that by its function the history of each piece of land is traced back to the date of the General Survey. Rights in land are defined and secured and all transactions relating to immovable property are protected.

 

Cyprus is one of only a few countries in the world to maintain such an accurate and effective registration system. Moreover, with the completion of computerisation, it is expected that all the Land Registry services will be upgraded and accelerated.

 

Section 40 of the Immovable Property Law provides that ownership of immovable property or rights in immovable property can only be acquired by registration at the Land Registry, through the procedure described in the law and that such registration may only be effected by the registered owner of the property. The certificates of registration (title deeds) issued by the Land Registry define the property, secure its ownership and facilitate transactions related to the property.

 

 

 

The Sale of Land (Specific Performance) Law

 

Under this law a purchaser of immovable property may secure the remedy of specific performance by depositing a duly stamped copy of the contract at the Land Registry within six months from the date of its execution, thus preventing the vendor from transferring the property elsewhere or charging it for as long as the contract is valid and legally effective. Moreover, if the vendor refuses to transfer the property, under certain circumstances the purchaser may apply to the court for an order for the transfer of the property into his name.

 

 

 

The Acquisition of Immovable Property (Aliens) Law

 

The word “aliens” in this law refers to non-Cypriots, whether EU citizens or third party nationals.

 

According to this law, non-Cypriots purchasing immovable property in Cyprus, apart from following the general rules which regulate such transactions, are also obliged to adhere to special formalities and are faced with certain restrictions, which are aimed at the proper control of foreign investments and the protection of foreign investors.

 

The term “foreigner” or “alien” is defined as any person not being a citizen of the Republic of Cyprus and includes a local company controlled by non-residents (international business), a foreign company and a trust in favour of a foreign person. It does not include:

 

•  Non-resident Cypriots;

 

•  Foreign wives of citizens of the Republic not living apart from their husbands under a decree of a competent court; or

 

•  From 1 May 2004, citizens of EU member states permanently residing in Cyprus or EU companies having their main base in Cyprus .

 

•  “Trust in favour of a foreign person” means any kind of trust of which the beneficiary or one of the existing beneficiaries is a non-Cypriot and includes any express or implied contract or agreement, written or oral, under which a non-Cypriot will not be the absolute owner but will have ownership for the benefit of another or where ownership will be held on trust for his benefit.

 

 

The term “acquisition of immovable property” includes:

 

•  The grant or purchase of a lease of property for a period exceeding 33 years;

 

•  The acquisition of shares in a company which is duly registered as a legal entity in the Republic or in the British Sovereign Base Areas and which (in either case) has acquired immovable property in the Republic or the Sovereign Base Areas, taking into account that if a majority of shares in the company belong mainly to non-Cypriots, the company is considered as “controlled by non-residents”; and

 

•  The formation of a trust in favour of a non-Cypriot which involves, wholly or partly, the leasing of immovable property under the provisions of a lease for a period exceeding 33 years or a shareholding in a company for similar purposes.

 

Under the Acquisition of Immovable Property (Aliens) Law, a non-Cypriot wishing to acquire immovable property requires the prior permission of the Council of Ministers. Normally permission is routinely granted to bona fide foreigners to acquire a flat or a house or a piece of land not exceeding three donums (about 4000 m 2 ) for the erection of only one house for use as a residence only by the purchaser and his family.

 

Since 1 May 2009, citizens of other EU member state are entitled to acquire any immovable property in Cyprus in the form of houses, flats, land and building sites or for investment purposes without a licence from the Council of Ministers.

 

The same applies to legal entities incorporated in another EU member state.

 

Members of the family of an original purchaser may also acquire their own property, provided that they are completely independent of the purchaser, both financially and residentially, such as married children having their own family and business. Permission is granted for personal use, and not for letting or commercial use. This rule is relaxed for international companies which are permitted to acquire business premises, as well as houses or flats as residences for their members or directors.

 

British subjects classified as “British Residents” according to Annex T of the Treaty of Establishment of the Republic of Cyprus , may freely trade in land in Cyprus without the permit of the Council of Ministers. This privilege was granted to some British subjects who were residents at the time of the establishment of the Republic of Cyprus ; it is recorded in their passports and it is extended to their spouses and descendants.

 

Although it may take up to 12 months for the Council of Ministers' permit to be obtained, purchasers are entitled to occupy the property in the meantime.

 

After the permit has been granted and the property registered in the name of the foreigner, no further restriction is imposed on him and he may sell or dispose of it by will or other instrument. Moreover, the legal heir is not required to obtain a permit in order to have the property registered in his name.

 

Before entering into a contract for the purchase of immovable property a prospective purchaser should always commission a search at the Land Registry to make sure that the property is free from any encumbrances, charges or burdens. It should be noted that no such burdens may affect the right of specific performance after the contract has been deposited with the Land Registry.

 

Although it is relatively easy to circumvent the restrictions by acquiring property via a company incorporated in another EU member state, it is equally simple for most third country nationals wishing to acquire immovable property in Cyprus to follow the traditional route of obtaining the permission of the Council of Ministers to acquire property. Permission is normally granted as a matter of routine to bona fide foreigners to acquire a flat or a house or a piece of land not exceeding three donums (about 4,000 square metres) for the erection of only one house for use as a residence only by the buyer and his family.

 

 

 

Transfer of Property

 

The transfer of immovable property can be effected once permission to acquire has been granted. Transfer fees are payable by the purchaser on the purchase price or, under certain circumstances, on the current market value. The first €85,340 is charged at 3%; the next €85,430 is charged at 5% and any excess above €170,860 is charged at 8%.

 

Thus the transfer fee on a property priced at €250,000 will be €13,165.60 (85,430@ 3% plus 85,430 @ 5% plus 79,140 @ 8%)

 

Cypriots and non-Cypriots may obtain loans to purchase immovable property secured by a mortgage on the property.

 

 

The Immovable Property (Transfer and Mortgage) Law, No. 9/1965

 

This law regulates mortgages of immovable property and sales of mortgaged property. It requires mortgages to be registered at the Land Registry.

 

 

The Rent Control Law

 

Property leases in Cyprus are governed by the provisions of the Contract Law, subject to the restrictions introduced by the Rent Control Law to protect tenants against eviction under certain circumstances.

 

The Rent Control Law does not apply to non-Cypriots renting properties in Cyprus (EU members are treated as Cypriots) .

 

Leases exceeding 15 years may be registered with the Land Registry and registration should be effected within three months of the signing of the lease. Registered leases afford the lessee certain advantages, including the right to trade the lease.

 

Non-Cypriots may not take a lease of immovable property for a period exceeding 33 years without the prior permission of the Council of Ministers, and they are not allowed to let their premises to tenants.

 

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com