塞浦路斯法律简介

 

塞浦路斯是地中海地区第三大岛国,总面积为9,251平方千米,地处地中海东部欧、亚、非三大洲交界处,战略位置极为重要。2010年7月统计数字显示,其总人口为110万人左右,其中约有800,000人居住在塞浦路斯共和国控制区内,其余人口则在其他国家占领区内。

 

1974年,土耳其军队入侵本岛,现在本国约有37%的土地仍在其控制之下;土耳其称其为“北赛土耳其共和国”(Turkish Republic of North Cyprus)。本网站所提到的“塞浦路斯”指塞浦路斯共和国合法政府规定的范围。“塞浦路斯问题”一直悬而未决,希望双方能尽快找到合适的解决办法。尽管如此,该问题并不会对人们的日常生活产生不良影响。

 

塞浦路斯地理位置得天独厚,是国际商业与金融中心。除有利的地理位置、轻松的生活方式与宜人的气候之外,这里的商业基础设施、受过良好教育的劳动力(会讲英语)、重商氛围、极为优惠的税收政策、高生活标准与低犯罪率都使它成为人们向往的地方。本国生活成本处于中等水平,航线四通八达,通讯方便。此外,塞浦路斯与欧洲各国的文化与贸易关系日益紧密,已经成为东西方世界之间的沟通桥梁。其时间比纽约时间早7个小时,比伦敦时间早2两个小时,比莫斯科时间晚1个小时,比北京时间晚5个小时。希腊语和土耳其语为本地官方语言,但英语则是通用商务语言。

 

塞浦路斯是主权独立国家,采用总统制,由成文宪法保护法律的权威性、政治的稳定性以及人权和个人财产私有权。2004年5月1日起,塞浦路斯即已成为欧盟成员国之一。

 

为申请进入欧盟,塞浦路斯进行了重大结构与经济改革。其经济环境有了翻天覆地的变化,足可以用现代、开放、充满活力来形容。

 

加入欧盟之后, 塞浦路斯成功地应对了欧洲一体化带来的挑战,并且在欧盟与其他国家(尤其是发展迅速的俄罗斯、东欧地区、印度和中国)的投资交流中起到了天然门户的作用。此外,塞浦路斯还是英联邦(Commonwealth)、欧洲理事会(Council of Europe)、国际货币基金组织(IMF)、联合国(UN)、世界银行(World Bank)和世界贸易组织(WTO)的成员国,并且是欧洲安全合作组织(Organization for Security and Co-operation)的创始国之一。

 

2008年1月1日起塞浦路斯开始采用欧元。

 

塞浦路斯于1960年宣布独立,其法律体系以英国普通法法系为模型,并与欧盟所有法律条文(acquis communautaire )兼容。本国已在多种国际公约与协议上签字,其中包括与40多个国家签订的双重征税协议。

 

塞浦路斯采用低税率,其财政与监管制度都与《企业课税行为守则》(Code of Conduct for Business Taxation)一类的欧洲标准一致,且完全满足经济合作发展组织(OECD)、OECD金融行动工作组(Financial Action Task Force)与金融稳定论坛(Financial Stability Forum)的要求。本国从加入OECD之日起即为达到该组织最高标准而努力,已被列入OECD白名单。塞浦路斯各项规章制度均为保持本国名望和声誉、让政府脱离官僚主义束缚并自由开展业务而制定。

 

更多信息请参考:www.neocleous.com

 

相关链接:

Cyprus Legal Information

 

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea , with an area of 9,251 square kilometres. It is strategically located in the Eastern Mediterranean at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa . Its total population is estimated at 1.1 million (July 2010) of whom approximately 800,000 live the area controlled by the Republic of Cyprus and the remainder in the occupied area.

 

The island was invaded in 1974 by the Turkish army and about 37% of the territory remains under Turkish occupation. The so-called Turkish Republic of North Cyprus is recognised only by Turkey , and all the references in this brochure to Cyprus relate to the legitimate government of the Republic of Cyprus . While political uncertainty continues to surround "the Cyprus problem", and it is hoped that there will be a satisfactory resolution in the near future, day-to-day business life is unaffected by the issue.

 

Cyprus is very well placed as an international business and financial centre. Apart from its strategic geographical location, relaxed way of life and attractive climate, it offers an excellent commercial infrastructure, a highly educated English-speaking labour force, a business-friendly environment, particularly in the area of taxation, a high standard of living and a low rate of crime. Living costs are moderate, and good airline connections and telecommunications and increasing alignment with the European position in matters of culture and trade make it an effective bridge between West and East. Its time zone is 7 hours ahead of New York , 2 hours ahead of London , 1 hour behind Moscow and 5 hours behind Beijing . The official languages are Greek and Turkish, but English is the lingua franca of business.

 

Cyprus is an independent, sovereign republic with a presidential system of government and a written constitution which safeguards the rule of law, political stability, human rights and the ownership of private property. Cyprus has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004.

 

In preparation for EU membership Cyprus made significant structural and economic reforms that transformed its economic landscape and created a modern, open and dynamic business environment.

 

Since accession, Cyprus has successfully faced the challenge of European integration, and has established itself as the natural portal for inward and outward investment between the EU and the rest of the world, particularly the rapidly-growing economies of Russia , Eastern Europe , India and China . Cyprus is a member of the Commonwealth, the Council of Europe, the IMF, the UN, the World Bank and the WTO, and a founder member of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe .

 

On 1 January 2008 Cyprus adopted the euro as its currency.

 

The legal system, modelled on the English common law system since independence in 1960, is harmonised with the acquis communautaire of the EU. Cyprus is a signatory to a large number of international conventions and treaties, including an extensive network of more than 40 double taxation treaties.

 

Cyprus is a low-tax jurisdiction whose fiscal and regulatory regimes are aligned with EU norms, particularly the Code of Conduct for Business Taxation, and fully satisfy the requirements of the OECD, the Financial Action Task Force of the OECD and the Financial Stability Forum. It has been on the OECD White List of jurisdictions complying with international best practice since its inception. The regulatory framework is designed to maintain the respectable and responsible reputation of Cyprus while allowing businesses to conduct their activities in an environment as free as possible from onerous bureaucratic restrictions.

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com

 

Further Links: