海外投资

 

在申请进入欧盟的预备阶段,政府为吸引外资、改善商业环境而放松了对欧盟及非欧盟公民的直接投资限制。一般来讲,外国投资者现在无需获得塞浦路斯央行(CBC)批准即可在塞浦路斯进行投资或经商,并享受本国投资者待遇。但为保护客户权益,在银行或金融服务等限制较为严格的领域投资还是需要申请许可——不论投资者是本国公民还是欧盟或第三国公民。只有对极少数战略部门或严格监管部门进行投资时,外国投资者才可不受持股与最少投资资本上的限制。为了给海外投资者提供方便,商业、工业及旅游部(Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism)已经建起了外国投资者服务中心(Foreign Investors Service Centre),帮助潜在投资者与本地政府部门协调、解决相关问题。

 

 

欧盟公民投资

 

欧盟公民在本地投资不受任何限制,这一点与欧盟的“设立自由”(freedom of establishment)原则相符;但在银行等受严格监管的部门投资时,还需通过“适格性”(fit and proper)考察。

 

 

第三国公民投资

 

直接投资

 

自2004年10月1日起,第三国公民可在本地自由进行直接投资,政府一般不设投资额上下限,但从事特殊投资活动时还须申请许可证。在这一点上,在塞浦路斯境内(IBC,国际商业公司)与境外开展业务的企业没有任何分别。

在1995年出台的旅游政策中,有49%的项目(如酒店和度假村等)允许外商投资;而100%的高尔夫球场和主题公园等旅游产品更是亟待外商前来参与。

 

投资组合

 

投资者最多可收购塞浦路斯证券交易所(Cyprus Stock Exchange)上市公司100%的股本,但银行和媒体等少数受严格监管的部门除外。

 

 

投资限制

 

欧盟和第三国投资者在进行房地产、高等教育业、公共事业、电台/电视台、报纸/杂志、航空业投资时都要受到一定的限制。政府将结合实际情况决定是否予以批准。

 

更多信息请参考:www.neocleous.com

Foreign Investment

 

In the run-up to EU membership, in order to attract inward investment and enhance economic prosperity in Cyprus, the government liberalised foreign direct investment policy for both EU and non-EU nationals. In general, foreign investors no longer need approval from the CBC and may invest and do business in Cyprus on equal terms with local investors. In regulated sectors such as banking and financial services approvals may be required for customer protection purposes, but these apply equally to Cypriots, nationals of other EU member states and third-country nationals. Accordingly, in all but a very few strategic or regulated sectors of the economy foreign investors may now participate with no limits on equity holdings and without any prescribed minimum level of capital investment. To further facilitate inward investment the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism has recently established a Foreign Investors Service Centre tasked with co-ordinating and simplifying potential investors' dealings with the authorities.

 

 

Investment by EU nationals

 

In line with the freedom of establishment there are no restrictions on investment by citizens of EU member states other than those applying to specifically regulated sectors, such as banking, where a "fit and proper" test is applied.

 

 

Investment by third country nationals

 

Direct

 

Foreign direct investment in Cyprus from non-EU countries was fully liberalised with effect from 1 October 2004, and minimum investment amounts and maximum participation percentages were generally abolished, although licences may be still be required for certain specific investment activities. There is now no difference between companies carrying on business outside Cyprus (previously known as international business companies ("IBCs") or offshore companies) and companies carrying on business inside Cyprus.

In the tourist sector the current policy, introduced in 1995, provides for participation up to 49% in projects such as hotels and tourist villages. For projects that enrich the tourist product, such as golf courses and theme parks, up to 100% participation is permitted.

 

Portfolio

 

Up to 100% of the share capital of a company listed on the Cyprus Stock Exchange may be acquired. The only exceptions are a few regulated sectors such as banking and media.

 

 

Restricted investments

 

For both EU and third country investors, restrictions remain on acquisitions in the areas of real estate, tertiary education, public utilities, radio and television stations, newspapers and magazines and airlines. Each application is considered on its merits.

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com