البيئة التجارية في قبرص

 

لدى قبرص سوق حر ومفتوح، وإقتصاد قائم على الخدمات وبعض الصناعات الخفيفة. وفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي، في عام 2009 كان الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد 29.620 دولار، وهو الناتج السادس والعشرون على مستوى العالم، وعلى قدم المساواة مع اليونان، وهونغ كونغ ونيوزيلندا. صنفت التنمية البشرية للأمم المتحدة لعام 2009 قبرص في المركز الثاني والثلاثين في العالم بالنسبة لمستوى المعيشة.

 

تهدف السياسة الإقتصادية للحكومة إلى تعزيز والحفاظ على الظروف الملائمة للإستثمار ودعم مبادرات القطاع الخاص. وتم تشجيع المشاركة الأجنبية في الإقتصاد رسمياً وتحريرها لبعض الوقت. وتم تسهيل الإجراءات الإدارية في العموم بينما لا توجد أية قيود على الإستثمارات الأجنبية فيما عدا بعض الصناعات الإستراتيجية مثل الخدمات المصرفية. كما تتاح الجنسية لكبار المستثمرين. هناك وعي متزايد بين الشركات الأجنبية والأفراد بالمزايا الخاصة التي تعود عليهم من خلال إستخدام قبرص كقاعدة للإستثمار في الداخل والخارج على حد سواء.

 

زاد تدفق الإستثمار الأجنبي في السنوات الأخيرة إلى حد كبير. لدى قبرص عدد 24 معاهدة ثنائية للتشجيع والحماية المتبادلة للإستثمارات وهناك أكثر من ذلك قيد التفاوض حالياً. والغرض من هذه المعاهدات هو خلق والحفاظ على ظروف ملائمة لإستثمارات مواطني دولة طرف ضمن إحدى المعاهدات في دولة أخرى لما فيه مصلحتيهما المشتركة على أساس طويل الأجل، لضمان حماية هذه الإستثمارات (بما في ذلك عودة الأرباح إلى موطن المستثمر) ووضع إجراءات لتسوية أي خلافات قد تنشأ. قبرص من الدول الموقعة على إتفاقية عام 1988 التي أنشأت وكالة ضمان الإستثمارات المتعددة الأطراف، وهي عضو في مجموعة البنك الدولي.

 

هناك العديد من المحامين المؤهلين من ذوي الخبرة في جميع جوانب قانون الشركات والتخطيط الضريبي. وتعمل شركات المحاسبة الدولية الرئيسية في قبرص، وكذلك خدمات التأمين والخدمات المالية والشركات الإئتمانية. تعد ليماسول المركز التجاري في قبرص وبها ميناء للشحن يعد من بين أهم ثلاث مراكز شحن على مستوى العالم.

يعد نظام الإتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية في قبرص ممتاز ومن بين أدنى معدلات التكاليف في أوروبا. شركة سي واي تي أ هي مزود الخدمة المملوكة للحكومة، وتشغل الشبكات الثابتة والنقالة مع مجموعة كاملة من خدمات الصوت ونقل البيانات. بعد تحرير السوق عدد من مقدمي الخدمة الأخرين سوف يقدمون خدمات مماثلة لمنافسة شركة سي واي تي أ الحكومية.

 

أنشأت الحكومة منطقة تجارة حرة على مقربة من لارنكا ذات بنية تحتية ممتازة، وإيجارات منخفضة وبدون تعريفة جمركية. وتخطط أيضاً لإنشاء مركز تكنولوجيا البرمجيات لتحفيز وتشجيع تدفق وسائل المعرفة والتكنولوجيا بين المؤسسات البحثية والتطويرية والتعليمية، والهيئات الإعتبارية وغيرهم من المشاركين في سوق تقنية المعلومات.

 

ويقع المطاران الدوليان بالقرب من لارنكا وبافوس، واللذان يخدمان العديد من شركات الطيران العالمية، وثم رفع مستواها في السنوات القليلة الماضية. أما حركة المرور البحرية فتتم خلال منفذي متعددي الأغراض في ليماسول ولارنكا، واللذان يستخدمان كمستودعات شحن، وتوزيع الحاويات.

 

 

الضرائب

 

أحدث الإصلاح الضريبي بعيد المدى الذي دخل حيز التنفيذ في 1 يناير 2003 تغييرات كبيرة في النظام الضريبي في قبرص. أدى إلى زيادة في معدل الضريبة على القيمة المضافة إلى 17% (لا يزال أدنى معدل في أوروبا) مما أدى إلى خفض بعض الضرائب وإلغاء الآخرى. وتم إستبدال النظام الضريبي القديم والمعقد بنظام جديد يقضي على التمييز والمعاملة التفضيلية بين الفئات المختلفة من الأعمال التجارية وهو نظام بسيط وشفاف. تم إلغاء التمييز بين الشركات المحلية والدولية، وتوحيد معدل الضريبة على الشركات الآن ليصبح 10% فقط، وهو أدنى مستوى في الإتحاد الأوروبي. معدل ضريبة الحد الأقصى للأفراد المقيمين هو 35%.

 

 

 

التحكم في أسعار الصرف

 

مع إلغاء الرقابة على الصرف في 1 مايو 2004 يمكن لكل من المقيمين وغير المقيمين، سواء كانوا أفراداً أو هيئات إعتبارية، إدارة الأصول والخصوم بأي عملة وفي أي بلد، بما في ذلك أرصدة قابلة للتحويل من وإلى مصارف الجزيرة. ليس هناك أي تمييز بين المواطنين القبارصة، أو أي من رعايا الدول الأخرى الأعضاء في الإتحاد الأوروبي أو رعايا الدول غير الأعضاء.

 

 

 

مكافحة غسيل الأموال

 

التشريع الرئيسي لمكافحة غسيل الأموال في قبرص هو منع ووقف العائدات المنصوص عليها في قانون الإجراءات غير المشروعة لعام 2007، قانون 188 (الأول) من عام 2007 ("القانون"). القانون الذي صدر في 31 كانون الأول 2007، الذي يرسخ، ويعدل ويحل محل قانون منع ووقف أنشطة غسيل الأموال بالقوانين من 1996 إلى 2004 إعتبارا من 1 يناير 2008.

 

ويتضمن القانون أحكاماً لمنع وإيقاف غسيل الأموال على حد سواء، وتنفيذ التوجيه الثالث لمكافحة غسيل الأموال بالكامل، التوجيه 60/2005/إي سي للبرلمان الأوروبي والمجلس المنعقد في 26 أكتوبر 2005، وقامت مجموعة العمل المالي ("إف أ تي إف ") بإعداد 40 توصية لمكافحة غسيل الأموال والتوصيات التسع الخاصة منها ضد تمويل الإرهاب.

 

القانون يجرم غسيل الأموال وهي من الجرائم التي يعاقب عليها بالسجن لمدة تزيد على سنة واحدة، فضلاً عن تمويل الأنشطة الإرهابية. ويلتزم جميع الأشخاص الذين ينشئون "الأعمال التجاربة المالية" (بما في ذلك مؤسسات الإئتمان وشركات الإستثمار وشركات التأمين والمحامين والمحاسبين، ووكلاء العقارات وتجار المعادن الثمينة والأحجار الكريمة) بتنفيذ الإجراءات الصارمة لمنع إساءة إستخدام خدماتها في غسيل الأموال. ويطلب من الأشخاص الخاضعين للقانون تنفيذ الإجراءات اللازمة لتحديد هوية العميل وحفظ السجلات والتقارير الداخلية. ويجب عليهم التأكد من أن العاملين لديهم على علم بإلتزاماتهم بموجب القانون، وتوفير التدريب المناسب لهم لمساعدتهم في التعرف على عمليات غسيل الأموال. يجب على المنظمات تعيين أشخاص مؤهلين "موظفي الإلتزام بمكافحة غسيل الأموال".

 

القانون يعين البنك المركزي القبرصي ("سي بي سي") كجهة الرقابة المختصة على جميع المصارف العاملة في قبرص، ويسند إليه مسؤولية ضمان إلتزام البنوك بأحكام القانون. ويعد البنك المركزي القبرصي سلطة إشرافية على مقدمي خدمات تحويل الأموال. الهيئات ذات الصلة المهنية هي المسؤولة عن أنشطة أعضائها.

أصدرالبنك المركزي القبرصي توجيهات مفيدة في تحديد هوية العميل وحفظ السجلات وغيرها من الإجراءات لمنع غسيل الأموال، بما في ذلك تحديد المستفيدين الحقيقيين من الحسابات والمعاملات والتحقق من مصدر وشرعية الأموال التي تتدفق من خلال النظام المصرفي في قبرص. وهي متاحة على الموقع الإلكتروني للبنك المركزي في قبرص.

 

أنشأ القانون وحدة خاصة لمكافحة غسيل الأموال ("وحدة مكافة غسيل الأموال") كجزء من مكتب النائب العام، لتحمل مسؤولية إستلام وتحليل تقارير المعاملات المشبوهة وغسيل الأموال والتحقيقات في تمويل الإرهاب.

 

وقد تم تقييم التدابير المتخذة في قبرص لمكافحة غسيل الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب عدة مرات من قبل مجموعة العمل المالي ومجلس اللجنة الأوروبية مونيفال، وهي هيئة إقليمية لمجموعة العمل المالي التي تضم في عضويتها جميع الدول الأوروبية، بما في ذلك قبرص، والتي هي ليست من أعضاء مجموعة العمل المالي.

 

في تقريرها الرسمي الذي نشر في يونيو من عام 2000، إعترفت مجموعة العمل المالي بأن نظام مكافحة غسيل الأموال في قبرص يتوافق مع المعايير الدولية. كما تثني تقارير التقييم اللاحقة التي إعتمدتها لجنة مونيفال على التدابير القانونية وغيرها من التدابير المتخذة من قبل قبرص وفقاً للإتفاقيات والمعايير الدولية، والكفاءة والفعالية في التنفيذ العملي لهذه التدابير.

 

لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى الرجوع إلى www.neocleous.com

Cyprus Commercial Environment

 

Cyprus has an open, free-market, service-based economy with some light manufacturing. According to the International Monetary Fund, in 2009 GDP per capita was USD 29,620, twenty-sixth in the world and on a par with Greece , Hong Kong and New Zealand . The United Nations Human Development Index for 2009 ranks Cyprus thirty-second in the world as regards quality of life.

 

The government's economic policy is aimed at promoting and maintaining favourable investment conditions and supporting private initiatives. Foreign participation in the economy has been officially encouraged and liberalised for some time. Administrative procedures have been simplified and in all but a few strategic or specifically regulated industries such as banking there are no limits on foreign investment. Citizenship is available for significant investors. There is a growing awareness among foreign corporations and individuals of the particular advantages of using Cyprus as a business base for both inward and outward investment.

 

In recent years the inflow of approved foreign investment has increased considerably. Cyprus has 24 bilateral treaties for the encouragement and reciprocal protection of investments and more are under negotiation. The purpose of the treaties is to create and maintain favourable conditions for investments made by nationals of one treaty state in the other treaty state for their mutual benefit on a long-term basis, to guarantee the protection of such investments (including the repatriation of profits) and to establish procedures for settling any disputes that may arise. Cyprus is a signatory to the convention which in 1988 established the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, a member of the World Bank Group.

 

There are many well-qualified lawyers who are experienced in all aspects of company law and tax planning. The principal international accountancy firms practise in Cyprus , as well as insurance, financial services and fiduciary companies. Limassol , Cyprus 's commercial and shipping centre, is among the world's most important third party ship management centres.

The Cyprus telecommunications system is excellent and costs are among the lowest in Europe . CYTA, the government-owned service provider, operates fixed and mobile networks with a full range of voice and data services. Following liberalisation of the market a number of other service providers now offer similar services in competition to CYTA.

 

The government has established a free trade zone close to Larnaca offering excellent infrastructure, low rents and customs-free status. It also plans to establish a Software Technology Park to stimulate and encourage the flow of knowledge and technology among research, development and educational institutions, corporate bodies and other participants in the IT market.

 

The country's two international airports, situated near Larnaca and Paphos, which serve numerous international airlines, were reconstructed and upgraded in the past few years. Seaborne traffic is served by the two multi-purpose ports of Limassol and Larnaca, which are used as warehouse, distribution and container transhipment centres.

 

 

Taxation

 

The far-reaching tax reform that took effect on 1 January 2003 brought about major changes to the Cyprus taxation system. An increase in the rate of VAT to 15% (still the lowest rate in Europe ) made possible a reduction of certain taxes and the abolition of others. The old, complex tax regime was replaced by a new system that eliminates discrimination and differential treatment between different categories of business and is simple and transparent. The distinction between local and international companies was abolished and the corporate tax rate is now uniform and only 10%, the lowest in the EU. The maximum tax rate for resident individuals is 35%.

 

 

 

Exchange control

 

With the abolition of exchange controls on 1 May 2004 both residents and non-residents, whether individuals or corporate bodies, may hold and manage assets and liabilities in any currency and in any country, including freely convertible and transferable balances with banks on the island. There is no distinction between nationals of Cyprus , nationals of other EU member states or third country nationals.

 

 

 

Anti money-laundering measures

 

The principal anti-money laundering legislation in Cyprus is the Prevention and Suppression of Legalising Proceeds from Illicit Actions Law of 2007, Law 188(I) of 2007 ("the Law"). The Law, which was passed on 31 December 2007, consolidates, amends and replaces the Prevention and Suppression of Money Laundering Activities Laws of 1996 to 2004 with effect from 1 January 2008.

 

The Law contains both suppressive and preventive provisions against money laundering, and fully implements the Third Anti- Money Laundering Directive, Directive 2005/60/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 26 October 2005 and the Financial Action Task Force's ("FATF") revised 40 Recommendations against money laundering and its 9 Special Recommendations against terrorist financing.

 

The Law criminalises money laundering from all crimes punishable with imprisonment in excess of one year as well as terrorist financing activities. All persons carrying on "relevant financial business" (including credit institutions, investment firms, insurance companies, lawyers, accountants, real estate agents and dealers in precious metals and stones) are obliged to implement strict procedures to preventing the abuse of their services for money laundering. Persons subject to the Law are required to implement procedures for customer identification, record keeping and internal reporting. They must ensure that their employees are aware of their obligations under the Law and provide adequate training to assist them in recognising money laundering transactions. Organisations must appoint properly qualified persons as "Money Laundering Compliance Officers".

 

The Law designates the Central Bank of Cyprus ("CBC") as the competent supervisory authority for all banks operating in Cyprus and assigns to it the responsibility of ensuring banks' compliance with the provisions of the Law. The CBC is also the supervisory authority for providers of money transmission services. The relevant professional bodies are responsible for their members' activities.

The CBC has issued useful guidance on customer identification, record keeping and other procedures for the prevention of money laundering, including the identification of beneficial owners of accounts and transactions and checks on the source and legitimacy of funds flowing through the banking system in Cyprus . These are available on the website of the Central Bank of Cyprus .

 

The Law established a special Unit for Combating Money Laundering ("MOKAS") as part of the Attorney General's Office, to take responsibility for the receipt and analysis of suspicious transaction reports and money laundering and terrorist financing investigations.

 

The measures taken in Cyprus for combating money laundering and terrorist financing have been evaluated several times by the FATF and the Council of Europe's Moneyval Committee, an FATF regional body whose membership comprises all European states, including Cyprus , which are not members of the FATF.

 

In its official report published in June 2000, the FATF recognised that the anti-money laundering system of Cyprus complies with international standards. Subsequent evaluation reports adopted by the Moneyval Committee commend the legal and other measures taken by Cyprus in line with international conventions and standards, and the efficiency and effectiveness of the practical implementation of those measures.

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com