塞浦路斯的商业环境

 

塞浦路斯有自由、开放的市场,以服务型经济为主,轻工业为辅。根据国际货币基金组织(IMF)报告,2009年本国人均GDP为29,620美元,位居世界第26位,与希腊、香港和新西兰齐名。2009年《联合国人文发展指数》生活质量排名中将塞浦路斯排在第32位。

 

本国经济政策以促进并保持有利投资环境、支持私营企业发展为宗旨。政府大力鼓励外商在此投资建厂,海外投资者还可享受一段时间的自由化法律待遇。本地行政管理程序已被大大简化,只有少数战略性或专门产业(如银行业)才会受到严格监管,外籍人士在此投资不受任何限制。重要投资者可成为塞浦路斯公民。已有越来越多的外籍企业与个人发现了本国的优势,将塞浦路斯作为对内对外投资的商业平台。

 

近几年来,已有大量外商前来本国投资。塞浦路斯与24个国家签订了双边协议,还有许多国家正在协商之中。之所以要签订这些协议,主要是为了鼓励外商投资并为其提供互惠保护(包括可将利润汇回),创造并维持有利的投资环境,与协议国长期合作、互惠互利以及建立完善的争议处理制度。塞浦路斯已于1988年签订了《多边投资担保机构公约》(Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency),而该担保机构则是世界银行集团(World Bank Group)中的一员。

 

本国还有大批熟知各项企业法规与税务规划问题的高素质律师、大型国际会计师事务所、保险公司、金融服务公司和信托机构。塞浦路斯的商业与航运中心利马索尔(Limassol)市是世界上最重要的第三方船舶管理中心之一。

塞浦路斯的电信系统十分发达,而其费用则是欧洲国家中最低的。本地固话与手机网络由国营电信运营商CYTA架设管理,该公司还可提供全面的语音与数据服务。在实行市场自由化政策之后,CYTA又多了好多可提供类似服务的竞争对手。

 

政府还在拉纳卡(Larnaca)附近建立了自由贸易区,并为其配备了完善的基础设施。此外,该贸易区还可享受极低的税率与免关税优惠政策。塞浦路斯还计划建设一所软件科技园,以促进科研、开发和教育机构以及公司实体与其他组织之间的知识技术交流。

 

本国有两座国际机场,分别坐落在拉纳卡和帕福斯市附近。机场在过去几年里经过了改造和升级,现在其航线可谓四通八达。海上运输业务则由两座多功能港口(分别位于利马索尔和拉纳卡)提供,这两个港口还起着仓库、配送和中转中心的作用。

 

 

税收

 

塞浦路斯于2003年1月1日进行了一次意义深远的税务改革,为塞浦路斯的税收制度带来了翻天覆地的变化。增值税被提升为15%(该税率仍然是欧洲最低的)后,给政府减免甚至取消某些税种留下了空间。陈旧复杂的税收体制被简单透明的新税制所替代,从而消除了对不同类型企业的歧视性与差别性对待。从此本地企业与国际公司可享受同样待遇,公司税也统一调整至10%,创欧洲最低水平。针对本地居民的最高税率为35%。

 

 

 

外汇管制

 

塞浦路斯自2004年5月1日起取消外汇管制,此后本国居民与非居民、个人与企业实体都可以任意货币、在任何国家保有或管理其财产与债务,如在本国银行进行货币转换或转账等。其他欧盟国家公民与第三国公民可享受本国公民待遇。

 

 

 

反洗钱措施

 

《2007年非法行为法》(Illicit Actions Law)188(I)中的《非法收益防范及限制条款》(Prevention and Suppression of Legalising Proceeds)为本国主要的反洗钱法规。该法于2007年12月31日通过,自2008年1月1日期生效,替代了《反洗钱活动法》(Prevention and Suppression of Money Laundering Activities Laws),后者有效期为1996到2004年。

 

该法条款旨在防范和抑制洗钱活动,有效实践了欧盟的反洗钱第三方案(the Third Anti- Money Laundering Directive,其指令代号为2005/60/EC,于2005年10月26日通过欧盟理事会批准)与金融行动工作组(FATF)提出的40项反洗钱建议和9条反恐怖融资特别建议。

 

该法将洗钱和恐怖融资活动认定为违法行为,违者将入狱至少一年。所有开展“相关金融业务”的人员、信用机构、投资公司、保险公司、律师、会计、房地产代理、贵金属/宝石交易商都应严格遵守法律程序,不得通过其服务进行洗钱活动。相关人员须仔细辨别客户、做好账目与内部报表;相关企业须保证其职员了解自己应履行的法律义务并举行这方面的培训。此外,各个企业与机构须任命合适人选为“洗钱督察官”(Money Laundering Compliance Officers)。

 

该法指出,塞浦路斯央行(CBC)为洗钱监管机构,负责管理本国境内的所有银行,使其遵守该法的各项条款。CBC同时也负责监管各家资金转移服务提供商。相关专业机构也应对其成员的活动负责。

CBC发行了一套使用指南,其内容涵盖客户鉴别、记账与其他反洗钱程序,包括账户/交易收益所有人识别、资金源及资金流动合法性检查等内容。如有兴趣请参考塞浦路斯中央银行官网。

 

塞浦路斯按照该法规定建立了专门的反洗钱机构(MOKAS)。该机构隶属于总检察长办公室,负责听取、分析可疑交易报告以及调查洗钱/恐怖融资活动。

 

塞浦路斯所采取的反洗钱与反恐怖融资措施已经几次通过了FATF和欧洲反洗钱专家委员会(Council of Europe's Moneyval Committee)的评估。后者为FATF的地方机构,其成员为塞浦路斯等地处欧洲的非FATF成员国。

 

FATF在其2000年6月发表的官方报告中对塞浦路斯的反洗钱体系予以了肯定,称其完全符合欧洲标准。随后反洗钱专家委员会也在其评估报告中对塞浦路斯采取的法律与其他措施及其履行效率给予了高度评价。

 

更多信息请参考:www.neocleous.com

Cyprus Commercial Environment

 

Cyprus has an open, free-market, service-based economy with some light manufacturing. According to the International Monetary Fund, in 2009 GDP per capita was USD 29,620, twenty-sixth in the world and on a par with Greece , Hong Kong and New Zealand . The United Nations Human Development Index for 2009 ranks Cyprus thirty-second in the world as regards quality of life.

 

The government's economic policy is aimed at promoting and maintaining favourable investment conditions and supporting private initiatives. Foreign participation in the economy has been officially encouraged and liberalised for some time. Administrative procedures have been simplified and in all but a few strategic or specifically regulated industries such as banking there are no limits on foreign investment. Citizenship is available for significant investors. There is a growing awareness among foreign corporations and individuals of the particular advantages of using Cyprus as a business base for both inward and outward investment.

 

In recent years the inflow of approved foreign investment has increased considerably. Cyprus has 24 bilateral treaties for the encouragement and reciprocal protection of investments and more are under negotiation. The purpose of the treaties is to create and maintain favourable conditions for investments made by nationals of one treaty state in the other treaty state for their mutual benefit on a long-term basis, to guarantee the protection of such investments (including the repatriation of profits) and to establish procedures for settling any disputes that may arise. Cyprus is a signatory to the convention which in 1988 established the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, a member of the World Bank Group.

 

There are many well-qualified lawyers who are experienced in all aspects of company law and tax planning. The principal international accountancy firms practise in Cyprus , as well as insurance, financial services and fiduciary companies. Limassol , Cyprus 's commercial and shipping centre, is among the world's most important third party ship management centres.

The Cyprus telecommunications system is excellent and costs are among the lowest in Europe . CYTA, the government-owned service provider, operates fixed and mobile networks with a full range of voice and data services. Following liberalisation of the market a number of other service providers now offer similar services in competition to CYTA.

 

The government has established a free trade zone close to Larnaca offering excellent infrastructure, low rents and customs-free status. It also plans to establish a Software Technology Park to stimulate and encourage the flow of knowledge and technology among research, development and educational institutions, corporate bodies and other participants in the IT market.

 

The country's two international airports, situated near Larnaca and Paphos, which serve numerous international airlines, were reconstructed and upgraded in the past few years. Seaborne traffic is served by the two multi-purpose ports of Limassol and Larnaca, which are used as warehouse, distribution and container transhipment centres.

 

 

Taxation

 

The far-reaching tax reform that took effect on 1 January 2003 brought about major changes to the Cyprus taxation system. An increase in the rate of VAT to 15% (still the lowest rate in Europe ) made possible a reduction of certain taxes and the abolition of others. The old, complex tax regime was replaced by a new system that eliminates discrimination and differential treatment between different categories of business and is simple and transparent. The distinction between local and international companies was abolished and the corporate tax rate is now uniform and only 10%, the lowest in the EU. The maximum tax rate for resident individuals is 35%.

 

 

 

Exchange control

 

With the abolition of exchange controls on 1 May 2004 both residents and non-residents, whether individuals or corporate bodies, may hold and manage assets and liabilities in any currency and in any country, including freely convertible and transferable balances with banks on the island. There is no distinction between nationals of Cyprus , nationals of other EU member states or third country nationals.

 

 

 

Anti money-laundering measures

 

The principal anti-money laundering legislation in Cyprus is the Prevention and Suppression of Legalising Proceeds from Illicit Actions Law of 2007, Law 188(I) of 2007 ("the Law"). The Law, which was passed on 31 December 2007, consolidates, amends and replaces the Prevention and Suppression of Money Laundering Activities Laws of 1996 to 2004 with effect from 1 January 2008.

 

The Law contains both suppressive and preventive provisions against money laundering, and fully implements the Third Anti- Money Laundering Directive, Directive 2005/60/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 26 October 2005 and the Financial Action Task Force's ("FATF") revised 40 Recommendations against money laundering and its 9 Special Recommendations against terrorist financing.

 

The Law criminalises money laundering from all crimes punishable with imprisonment in excess of one year as well as terrorist financing activities. All persons carrying on "relevant financial business" (including credit institutions, investment firms, insurance companies, lawyers, accountants, real estate agents and dealers in precious metals and stones) are obliged to implement strict procedures to preventing the abuse of their services for money laundering. Persons subject to the Law are required to implement procedures for customer identification, record keeping and internal reporting. They must ensure that their employees are aware of their obligations under the Law and provide adequate training to assist them in recognising money laundering transactions. Organisations must appoint properly qualified persons as "Money Laundering Compliance Officers".

 

The Law designates the Central Bank of Cyprus ("CBC") as the competent supervisory authority for all banks operating in Cyprus and assigns to it the responsibility of ensuring banks' compliance with the provisions of the Law. The CBC is also the supervisory authority for providers of money transmission services. The relevant professional bodies are responsible for their members' activities.

The CBC has issued useful guidance on customer identification, record keeping and other procedures for the prevention of money laundering, including the identification of beneficial owners of accounts and transactions and checks on the source and legitimacy of funds flowing through the banking system in Cyprus . These are available on the website of the Central Bank of Cyprus .

 

The Law established a special Unit for Combating Money Laundering ("MOKAS") as part of the Attorney General's Office, to take responsibility for the receipt and analysis of suspicious transaction reports and money laundering and terrorist financing investigations.

 

The measures taken in Cyprus for combating money laundering and terrorist financing have been evaluated several times by the FATF and the Council of Europe's Moneyval Committee, an FATF regional body whose membership comprises all European states, including Cyprus , which are not members of the FATF.

 

In its official report published in June 2000, the FATF recognised that the anti-money laundering system of Cyprus complies with international standards. Subsequent evaluation reports adopted by the Moneyval Committee commend the legal and other measures taken by Cyprus in line with international conventions and standards, and the efficiency and effectiveness of the practical implementation of those measures.

 

For more information please refer to www.neocleous.com